1. Just because they sell it, don’t mean it ain’t broke.

I was more than ecstatic to find a fan at Nakumut today.  Truly.  (The noise helps me sleep.  I know, I know – it’s a dysfunctional gene that runs in my family, a habit I cannot break even in Africa.)  So after a night of being woken up by the wonderfully new sounds of my quite wonderful new apartment, I knew it was time to search for the golden object.  And I found it!  And I brought it home.  And did it turn on?  No.  Was it the outlet?  No.  Did Nakumut sell me a faulty fan.  Yes.  Of all the things.

I had  such high hopes for you, Nakumut.

2. Apple Mango is delicious.

This doesn’t really need further explanation, except maybe that you should be jealous! Mmmmmm

3. About Africa time.

Africans are notorious for being late.  Except they’re not late, they’re just on “Africa time.”  Now, before you go crack a joke about how I was born to live in a country where people are not punctual let me just declare – THIS IS NOT EVEN THE SAME!  Today’s case:

Today, British Airways kindly decided to deliver my bag that they forgot to place on flight to Nairobi.  Oops.  At 10:45 PM, when I spoke to the man at the airport he informed me that my bag had in fact arrived and would be picked up by a taxi driver and delivered within the hour.  I believed him (my first mistake.)  The rest of the dialogue went something like this:

12 PM.  Me: Hello?  Gtonga (taxi driver)? Where are you?

Gtonga: I will be there in 10 minutes.   I will call you when I get there.

12:20 PM.  Me:  Hello, Gtonga.  You said you would be here in 10 minues.

Gtonga:  Yes, I am close.  I am close.  <click>

12:35 PM.  Gtonga:  Hello?  Are you by Steima Plaza?

Me:  No, I am at the corner of Kolobot and…

Gtonga: <click>

12:37 PM.  Me: Gtonga!  I am at the corner of Kolobot and Mburu.  Forest Road Apartments.

Gtonga: Ok, I come soon.

Me: (Soon is starting to sound awfully far away.  If I fall asleep in church tomorrow. It will not be my fault.)

12:45 PM <rapid knocking on the door>

Security guard: Can I let the man in the gate?

Me:  The one with my bag?  YES!

12:48 PM. Gtonga: I finally found you.

Me:  Yes.  Yes you did.

Ok, so in the grand scheme of things, this was not the worst misunderstanding of time ever.  The man was not intentionally trying to screw me over, like a workman Jenn was dealing with to day who just decided not to show up to fix a problem he created but had already been compensated for.  All in all, even though he was an hour late, which felt like three because I was recovering from jet lag, he did help me carry my 70 lb bag up the three flights of stairs.  So I guess, in the end, we called it even, Gtonga and me.

